Monthly Archives: February 2017

A Boy Made of Blocks

A Boy Made of Blocks by Keith Stuart As per Goodreads: In the tradition of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls comes a warm and tender novel in which a father and his autistic son connect over the game of Minecraft. … Continue reading

Posted in Authors, Book Reviews, fiction | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Swimming Lessons by Claire Fuller

A beautifully written story about a flawed family who’s memories and hopes over time get confused with reality.  Ingrid, a college student, and Gil, her professor, have an unconventional love affair leading to pregnancy. This forces Ingrid to give up her academic … Continue reading

Posted in Authors, Book Reviews, fiction | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Nadia Hashimi – Author Obsession

It is very exciting to discover an author who’s novels are so compelling, educational and engrossing that I want to read everything they have written. Nadia Hashimi is one of those brilliant and heartfelt authors. Her writing is smart and rich … Continue reading

Posted in Authors, Book Reviews, fiction | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Clare Mackintosh – Author Obsession

Nothing beats a heart pounding psychological thriller to keep you looking over your shoulder! Clare Mackintosh has done it twice with her novels I Let You Go and I See You. I loved them both!  Be prepared for the twists and turns … Continue reading

Posted in Authors, Book Reviews, fiction, mystery, psychological thriller | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

The Weight of Him by Ethel Rohan

Billy Brennan is overweight, 401 lbs to be exact. He and his wife Tricia just lost their oldest teenage son Michael to suicide, and with no recollection of the boy being unhappy and no note of explanation, they are blindsided … Continue reading

Posted in Authors, Book Reviews, fiction | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Book Giveaway!

I have one copy of Breaking and Holding by Judy Fogarty to give away.  Please answer the question “Who is your favorite professional tennis player of all time?” here on the blog in the comments below and share Book Nation by … Continue reading

Posted in Authors, Book Reviews, fiction | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

Breaking and Holding by Judy Fogarty

  When Patricia finds a telltale sign of another woman having been in the bed she shares with her husband Jack, a man more than two decades her senior, she decides to take some time alone and spend the summer … Continue reading

Posted in Authors, Book Reviews, fiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Fiction You Shouldn’t Miss

Great new books are being published all the time and it is not easy to keep up.  Here are several of my favorite fictional novels from the recent past.  Have you read them all?     Small Great Things by Jodi … Continue reading

Posted in Authors, Book Reviews, fiction | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Nonfiction recommendations for you!

It’s the doldrums of winter and you may have a vacation planned or you may be snowed in, but either way, use any extra time to catch up on your reading, expand your knowledge base, understand others’ perspectives and enjoy a … Continue reading

Posted in Authors, Book Reviews, memoirs, nonfiction, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment